Some Poignancy And Smartass Musings

Considerations by Gary Hambley

SPASM #6 – No Bacon!

SPASM #6 – No Bacon!

What kind of freakazoid takes the only thing on the menu with bacon off that menu and doesn’t replace it with something else with bacon? This is just wrong!

Coffee spots I go to are part of a chain. There was a sandwich on the menu that had turkey with 3 strips of peppered bacon and it was my favourite. The sandwich had tomato and cheese too. All of this on a Ciabatta style bun. Damn good sandwich it WAS! I would eat a couple of those sandwiches a week and on the odd occasion, three in a week.

The Turkey with Peppered Bacon seemed to be the most popular sandwich as well. I’d reached the point where if I knew I was going to be at the coffee spot for a while, I’d snag one of those delights and have one of the elves bag it and tag it with my name for later.

Everyone and I mean everyone knows that Bacon is one of the 4 food groups. For those of you that don’t know, the 4 food groups are “Bacon”, “K.D.”, “Chocolate” and “MORE BACON”.

Those 6 to 9 strips of bacon every week were my weekly ration. Now I have to find another place to get my bacon fix. I am so not pleased!

They still have Turkey on the menu. Turkey & Pesto for a warm sandwich. Turkey & Havarti as the cold sandwich. Elf offered to warm up the Turkey & Havarti for me but the bread looked like store bought brownish bread and I wasn’t chancing it.

Fortunately we got the St. Lawrence Market pretty much next door to one coffee spot so on Saturday I’m pretty sure I know where I’ll be getting a sandwich with bacon.

There is one more thing before I close this off. I’m reasonably certain the same freakazoid that killed my favourite sandwich is responsible for the removal of the “White Chocolate Macadamia Cookie” from the menu at the same time.

I don’t know who had to sign off on these changes but when I find out, I’m borrowing my friend’s crystal that turns people in to pickles and that person is gonna be topping for my Cheese Burger in Paradise!

G.R. Hambley, September 12, 2015
All rights reserved

 

2 responses to “SPASM #6 – No Bacon!

  1. tenten50 September 12, 2015 at 2:21 PM

    Delightful collection of rants so far, I really liked today’s, it so whipped up an appetite for WCM cookies that I had to hide the car keys for fear of busting my diet! (The bacon lust is a ‘guy thing’, methinks. Does nothing for me).

    You’re a curmudgeonly teddybear to be sure. Looking forward to more!

    Liked by 2 people

    • G. R. Hambley September 12, 2015 at 3:03 PM

      Why thank you friend! Glad you enjoyed! There shall be more! Although tomorrow my softer self elsewhere something new.

      I have worked hard for all the variations on the “C”. Curmudgeon, Cantankerous, Crotchety, Crazed, and of course, Cool! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Exercise your own intelligent donkey!

